CompTIA Certifications can help you upscaling your IT career

Information technology is a dynamic, unpredictable industry that is constantly innovating. This market requires that professionals in the field are constantly updated with the most recent and cutting-edge technology. In such a situation, a bachelor’s degree or postgraduate degree is not sufficient. A certification that is recognized by the industry is the only way to validate the professional’s proficiency in the latest technologies. A certification can also help a professional in technology gain credibility, marketability, and career growth. CIO.com reports that the right certification can increase the salary of technical job profiles by 16%.
Why CompTIA?
CompTIA (Computer Technology Industry Association), a non-profit organization, provides vendor-neutral professional certificates to technology aspirants in 120 countries. The certification curriculum is created by a small group of IT experts and is not geared towards any vendor. CompTIA focuses on training candidates in specific skills and areas, as well as validating these skills and demonstrating IT competence. To choose the right certification, a candidate must do the following:
Identify their interest in the wide range of specializations that are available in the industry.
You should create a flexible training program that can be updated or modified to accommodate any new trend in the subject.
To ensure that the candidate has a solid understanding of the new skills, it is important to add job experience to the training.
CompTIA certification programs can be categorized according to their skill sets. These include core, infrastructure, cybersecurity, and others. Additional professional certifications are also available.
Core Certifications
CompTIA Core certifications are:
CompTIA IT Fundamentals

This certification covers basic IT concepts and terminologies. This certification is a stepping stone to A+ certification. This certification allows the candidate to understand how personal computers work and how to troubleshoot them.
CompTIA A+

This certification validates the competence of IT professionals who use personal computers to install, modify, operate, and maintain them. This certification is valid for three years and must be renewed by computer service technicians who have taken it up.
CompTIA Network+

This certification covers many aspects of networking such as TCP/IP, OSI models, etc. This certification allows a networking technician the ability to set up, maintain, troubleshoot, and support a network. This exam is valid for three years. To retain certification status, the candidate must retake the exam.
CompTIA Security+

This certification is ideal for anyone looking to pursue a career as an IT security professional. This certification certifies the candidate’s basic skills, which are required to perform core IT security functions. To maintain its validity, the certification status must be renewed every three years.
Infrastructure Certifications
These certifications fall under the Infrastructure category:
CompTIA Linux+

This certification is for IT professionals who use Linux. This exam is job-focused and validates the candidate’s knowledge in all major Linux distributions, including basic maintenance and setting up work stations. This certification is valid for one year and does not expire.
CompTIA Server+

This certification covers server skills in six IT domains: system hardware, software storage, disaster recovery, troubleshooting, and software. This exam validates the candidate’s ability to troubleshoot, build, support, and maintain server hardware and software. This certification is valid for life and does not expire.
CompTIA Cloud+

This certification validates the skills needed to optimize and maintain cloud infrastructure services. This certification is ideal for system administrators who will be deployed in data centres.
Cybersecurity Certifications
These certifications fall under the cybersecurity category:
CompTIA PenTest+

This certification is for cybersecurity professionals who manage vulnerability management and penetration testing. This exam includes multiple choice questions and performance-based questions. It is designed to test the candidate’s ability to perform security mitigation tasks within the system.
CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+).

This certification covers advanced topics like security analytics, intrusion detection, and response. This certification allows the candidate to combat cyber threats within the system. This exam is high-stakes and is conducted in highly-secured environments.